Applying: Part 8 (waiting…)

Congratulations! You’ve made it through the process of picking schools, deciding on the consultant question, securing your recommenders, writing essays, sorting out your work experience, refining your resume and taking the GMAT. You filled out your personal info, answered the short questions on the application, and paid the ridiculously large application fee. You have applied to business school.

There is one more thing you need to do. Find the exact email address that your interview invite will come from. Make sure that those emails will go to your inbox and not your spam. For some of my invites, when they were sent out there was a link to a website that had about 50 choices of interview dates & times. My guess is that they sent that link to about 50 interviewees. I saw the email an hour after it had been sent and by the time I got to the website there were only 15 spots left. I ended up having interviews at two schools on the same day, one at 8:30am and one at 2:00pm, with a 3 hour drive in between. The moral of that story: make sure you see your interview invitations immediately.

Other than that, all that is left is for you to do is sit and wait.

I would strongly advise that you avoid thinking about business school for these months. I know, crappy advice. But it’s the best I can do. For my part I just stayed really busy. I also avoided forums and made an effort not to keep track of what was happening in the bschool world. If other people were getting interview invites I didn’t want to know about it.

About backinthebay2015

Stanford GSB class of 2015
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

